Carrier Dome to Host Lacrosse Tripleheader on March 17

An open forum for all MCLA fans! Be sure your topic is not already covered by one of the other forums or it will be moved.

Carrier Dome to Host Lacrosse Tripleheader on March 17

Postby Sonny on Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:02 pm

SYRACUSE, N.Y. – Syracuse University's Carrier Dome will serve as the host site for a stellar men's lacrosse tripleheader on Saturday, March 17. The three games will feature six programs that have won national championships with the annual Syracuse-Johns Hopkins encounter serving as the marquee contest at 3:30 p.m. Last year's Division III champion Cortland will kick off the lacrosse extravaganza against Springfield at 12:30 p.m. Reigning Division II champion Le Moyne takes on C.W. Post in the nightcap at 6:00 p.m.

"It's going to be an exceptional day of college lacrosse," Syracuse Director of Athletics Daryl Gross said. "To have six teams, all with national championships, on one field will be great for fans in this area and to have our game against Hopkins – our biggest rival – as part of it is tremendous. We are thrilled to host it."

Orange head coach John Desko agreed.

"It's great for lacrosse fans in Central New York to be able to see these three games at one venue," Desko said. "With so many players from this area competing at the Division I, II and III levels, many of them at these schools, makes it very exciting."

Syracuse and Johns Hopkins have a total of 17 NCAA national championships between them. The Orange has won nine, more than any other Division I program, and the Blue Jays have claimed eight. SU's most recent title came in 2004. Johns Hopkins' last championship was in 2005.

Cortland, under the direction of interim coach Rich Barnes, won the 2006 Division III title by defeating Salisbury, 12-11, in overtime. The victory ended Salisbury's 69-game winning streak and gave the Red Dragons their second men's lacrosse national crown. Cortland also won the 1975 Division II national championship.

Springfield, Cortland's opponent, won the 1994 national title as a Division II program, beating NYIT, 15-12.

Le Moyne has won two of the last three Division II titles, including the 2006 national championship. The Dolphins crushed Dowling, 12-5, in last year's title tilt. It also won the championship in 2004 with a double-overtime win against Limestone.

The Dolphins will play C.W. Post, winner of the 1996 Division II championship. The Pioneers knocked off Adelphi, 15-10, for its only lacrosse NCAA title.

Tickets for the event are $10 for adults and $5 for children 12 and under. They are available online at or by calling the Carrier Dome Box Office at 1-888-DOMETIX.
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8183
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 3:18 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests