Officiating Question

An open forum for all MCLA fans! Be sure your topic is not already covered by one of the other forums or it will be moved.

Officiating Question

Postby C2Films on Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:07 pm

I had a question about a player getting pushed into the crease while scoring a goal. In the WOU vs Oregon game a player gets a step on his man and gets pushed into the crease from behind while shooting. The ref on GLE says no goal, crease violation but the trailing ref who saw the push calls that and awards the attacking team the ball on a restart. Shouldn't the goal count if the player was indeed pushed?

The video clip is up on laxx.tv/link/8971 and it happens at the 1:01:50 mark. Thanks
User avatar
C2Films
Water Boy
Water Boy
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:20 pm


Re: Officiating Question

Postby Chris Larson on Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:21 pm

Didn't watch the clip (not loading quickly on my work PC), but if the player stepped into the crease before the ball crossed the plane (even if illegally pushed), then no goal and adjudicate the penalty. If the ball crosses before the player steps in, goal is good, and the goal wipes out the technical foul - we're facing off assuming no stick penalties or other dead ball shenanigans.

If the offense commits a foul during the flag down - say like an illegal screen, then play is stopped and the goal would not count. Player who pushed would serve his penalty. Perhaps this is what happened.

It can be really tough to call having to watch ball, feet, and back. Requires good inter-crew coordination & communication as well as trust in your partner to do his job. Sounds like you had some of those components at work with this crew.
Chris Larson

District 7 Lacrosse Official
SFO - Upper Midwest Lacrosse Conference
Treasurer - Upper Midwest Lacrosse Officials Association
General Manager - Team MN Lacrosse
Boy's Coaching Coordinator - St Paul Youth Lacrosse
User avatar
Chris Larson
Premium
Premium
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:55 pm
Location: St Paul, MN

Re: Officiating Question

Postby C2Films on Fri Feb 08, 2013 10:59 pm

Thanks Mr. Larson, after hearing your ruling (and seeing what happened) it sounds like it should have been a goal and at the very least a penalty. It wouldn't have changed the outcome but its still good to be reassured by a ref.
User avatar
C2Films
Water Boy
Water Boy
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:20 pm

Re: Officiating Question

Postby laxfan25 on Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:25 am

Did the trailing ref throw his flag for the push? If so there should have been a 30 second penalty and the ball goes to the attack. If they only got the ball then it would have been a loose ball technical.
As Chris said, once an attacker touches the crease no goals are possible.
In this case it could have been - inside move - shot - push - crease touch - ball breaks plane. That would fit the call made, but wouls seem to be a very slow shot?
User avatar
laxfan25
Scoop, Cradle, & Rock!
Scoop, Cradle, & Rock!
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:06 pm

Re: Officiating Question

Postby Chris Larson on Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:16 pm

My guess is that the trail official thought the push occurred when the ball was loose and that the entry into the crease ended the play-on.
Chris Larson

District 7 Lacrosse Official
SFO - Upper Midwest Lacrosse Conference
Treasurer - Upper Midwest Lacrosse Officials Association
General Manager - Team MN Lacrosse
Boy's Coaching Coordinator - St Paul Youth Lacrosse
User avatar
Chris Larson
Premium
Premium
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:55 pm
Location: St Paul, MN


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


cron