Page 1 of 1

Dman in crease

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:40 am
by Tim Gray
What happens if goalie goes out of cage to get a GB. A defender steps into the crease, and receives a pass from the goalie. Is that defender protected by the same crease rules as a goalie is?? In other words, is he not allowed to be checked, and if his stick is hit during a pass, is it a free clear?

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:31 am
by laxfan25
Only the designated goalkeeper (the guy with the big wide stick) has the protection afforded the goalkeeper. The D-man can be in the crease to receive the pass, but the offense is free to check his stick (or body, if they can do it without entering the crease), and he is not protected on a clearing pass.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:35 am
by LaxRef
laxfan25 wrote:Only the designated goalkeeper (the guy with the big wide stick) has the protection afforded the goalkeeper. The D-man can be in the crease to receive the pass, but the offense is free to check his stick (or body, if they can do it without entering the crease), and he is not protected on a clearing pass.


He also can't bat the ball with his hand.