Page 1 of 1

US Lacrosse Men's Officials Newsletter 1-25-07

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 9:20 am
by LaxRef
US Lacrosse MDOC E-mail wrote:The first edition of Stripes, a new newsletter from the US Lacrosse Men's Division Officials Council, is available for download on the US Lacrosse Web site at:

http://www.uslacrosse.org/mdoc/mdocnews0107.pdf

If you have difficulty downloading the document, it is also linked on the US Lacrosse Men's Division Officials Council news web page at:

http://www.uslacrosse.org/mens_div/mdocnews.phtml

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:58 am
by shrekjr
Great stuff, I highly recommend everyone...players, coaches, officials...read through this. Lots of good information, including play situations you might not know the answers to.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:29 pm
by Sonny
Good job. Very nice resource.

All players and coaches should check it out.

Although I must admit I don't understand if the final question/answer is correct (the one about the player leaving the field of play, illegal body check).

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:00 pm
by LaxRef
Sonny wrote:Good job. Very nice resource.

All players and coaches should check it out.

Although I must admit I don't understand if the final question/answer is correct (the one about the player leaving the field of play, illegal body check).


If the ball is on the other side of the field and he drills a guy standing in the sub area, there's no way you can make a case for it being a legal body check, since the guy being hit neither has the ball nor is within 5 yards of a loose ball. Obviously, you'd have to judge it as a body check and not just a bump or incidental contact, but I tried to write it to make it clear it was a check and not just a bump.

If the ball were within 5 yards of the sub area and he checked the guy waiting to come onto the field, the answer would be less clear, I think.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:09 pm
by Sonny
I don't have a problem with the Illegal Body Check call. But the part I was questioning was how a loose ball push (prior to the IBC) becomes a time serving foul & simultanous fouls.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:27 pm
by LaxRef
Sonny wrote:I don't have a problem with the Illegal Body Check call. But the part I was questioning was how a loose ball push (prior to the IBC) becomes a time serving foul & simultanous fouls.


Stripes #1 wrote:Since the team entitled to
possession (Team A), committed
a personal foul, all players
involved will serve penalty
time (see NCAA Rule 7-6-b-2-
(b) and A.R. 16; NFHS Rule 7-
6-3-b-2). A1 serves 1:00 to
3:00, and B1 serves 30 seconds
even though B1’s foul was
initially a loose-ball foul (4 pts).


Check out that A.R. 16 and all will be clear (I hope):

NCAA Rule 7 wrote:A.R. 16. During a loose ball, B1 pushes A1 from behind and a play-on is called. While
the ball is still live, A1 turns and slashes B1. RULING: These are simultaneous fouls.
Since Team A was entitled to possession, all players involved serve penalty time. B1
serves 30 seconds and A1 serves one minute, with the first 30 seconds of each penalty
being nonreleasable.