Page 1 of 2

Kicking the Crosse Question

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 5:17 pm
by Phantanimal
Say a player has their stick checked out of their hands and the ball remains in the pocket of the stick while it is on the ground, will another player get a kicking the crosse penalty for disloding the ball by kicking the stick even though it is not in the opposing players possession?

Can you kick it?
or
Do you just have to flip the stick with your own stick until the ball comes loose?

What would be the call, if any, in that situation?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 5:42 pm
by laxfan25
This very question has come up in other forums. IMO, if you were to kick the stick you would get an IP call, even though you were trying to dislodge the ball. Better to try to whack it out with your crosse. The fact that it is on the ground doesn't matter, for instance, say you drop your stick by the midfield (as an attacker) and the D-man kicks it over the midline so you can't retrieve it? In that case, I consider it dirty pool, and would likely give him a USC.
Also, if the ball stays stuck in the stick when a player drops it on the ground - you might recommend to your coach that he call for a stick check on that player. You might get a nice 3 minute man-up advantage, with no hope of parole!

Re: Kicking the Crosse Question

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 5:57 pm
by LaxRef
Phantanimal wrote:Say a player has their stick checked out of their hands and the ball remains in the pocket of the stick while it is on the ground, will another player get a kicking the crosse penalty for disloding the ball by kicking the stick even though it is not in the opposing players possession?

Can you kick it?
or
Do you just have to flip the stick with your own stick until the ball comes loose?

What would be the call, if any, in that situation?


Ask again at the end of the month. I submitted an A.R. to the NCAA on this topic; in a few weeks we'll know if they decided to include it.

Re: Kicking the Crosse Question

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 12:15 pm
by Phantanimal
LaxRef wrote:Ask again at the end of the month. I submitted an A.R. to the NCAA on this topic; in a few weeks we'll know if they decided to include it.


Any word on that question or any other interesting topics you may have submitted??

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:53 pm
by laxfan25
The new rulebook is not out yet. Have to hold your breath a little longer! In the meantime, don't be kicking any crosses - beat the heck out of it with your stick!

Re: Kicking the Crosse Question

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 5:43 pm
by LaxRef
Phantanimal wrote:
LaxRef wrote:Ask again at the end of the month. I submitted an A.R. to the NCAA on this topic; in a few weeks we'll know if they decided to include it.


Any word on that question or any other interesting topics you may have submitted??


Success! (At least at the NCAA level; no change for NFHS)

The new A.R.s are:

2007 NCAA Rulebook wrote:A.R. 43. A1 drops his crosse, which is not broken, and B1 (1) Accidentally steps on or
kicks A1’s crosse; or (2) Intentionally steps on, kicks or otherwise moves A1’s crosse to
try to keep A1 from recovering it. RULING: (1) No foul for interference because the
crosse is not in possession. (2) Unsportsmanlike conduct on B1.

A.R. 44. A1, in a crowded scrimmage area, drops his crosse with the ball in it. (1) A1
tries to retrieve his crosse. (2) A2 or B1 kicks the crosse on the ground to try to gain access
to the ball. (3) A2 or B1 uses his crosse to try to gain access to the ball. RULING: If the
ball is stuck in the crosse, immediate whistle and award the ball to Team B. Otherwise:
(1) Illegal procedure for participating in the play without equipment. (2) No foul. (3) No
foul.


We'll get to other issues in the coming days and weeks; I'm still working on printing a copy from the .pdf.

Speaking of which, I'm having trouble: for some reason, the 2007 .pdf won't seem to print out using the "odd pages only" or "even pages only" features; it prints all pages every time. Is this happening to anyone else? I've been going through printing the pages one at a time so I can get a double-sided copy, but it's taking forever!

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 9:55 pm
by Phantanimal
Thanks. It will be interesting to see the calls made this year pertaining to the above situations.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:07 pm
by stickdoctor
what would the ruling be if a player dropped his own stick, and picked up the stick on the ground with the ball in it, and took off?

Illegal procedure? USC? Smart play?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:07 pm
by LaxRef
stickdoctor wrote:what would the ruling be if a player dropped his own stick, and picked up the stick on the ground with the ball in it, and took off?

Illegal procedure? USC? Smart play?


The A.R. probably needs to be tweaked a bit. If he picks it up in a scrimmage area, he's playing without equipment: IP. I'll try to rewrite to say if there is no one within 5 yards that he can pick it up, but if there's no one within 5 yards why did he drop it in the first place?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:41 am
by stickdoctor
LaxRef wrote:
stickdoctor wrote:what would the ruling be if a player dropped his own stick, and picked up the stick on the ground with the ball in it, and took off?

Illegal procedure? USC? Smart play?


The A.R. probably needs to be tweaked a bit. If he picks it up in a scrimmage area, he's playing without equipment: IP. I'll try to rewrite to say if there is no one within 5 yards that he can pick it up, but if there's no one within 5 yards why did he drop it in the first place?


I wasn't clear enough:

Player 1 (longpole) knocks player 2 (attack) stick out of hands and it falls with ball still in it on ground.

Player 1 drops his longpole, and picks up the attackmans shortie with the ball in it, and takes off downfield - what's the ruling?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:48 pm
by LaxRef
stickdoctor wrote:
LaxRef wrote:
stickdoctor wrote:what would the ruling be if a player dropped his own stick, and picked up the stick on the ground with the ball in it, and took off?

Illegal procedure? USC? Smart play?


The A.R. probably needs to be tweaked a bit. If he picks it up in a scrimmage area, he's playing without equipment: IP. I'll try to rewrite to say if there is no one within 5 yards that he can pick it up, but if there's no one within 5 yards why did he drop it in the first place?


I wasn't clear enough:

Player 1 (longpole) knocks player 2 (attack) stick out of hands and it falls with ball still in it on ground.

Player 1 drops his longpole, and picks up the attackmans shortie with the ball in it, and takes off downfield - what's the ruling?


Answer is the same: it's IP on Player 1 for playing without equipment (if it's his teammate) or a USC (if the sitck is his opponent's).

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 1:37 pm
by Brendan Barry
HAHA I'd say damn smart defender!

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:27 pm
by LaxRef
Brendan Barry wrote:HAHA I'd say damn smart defender!


Not if it gets him 1:00 NR.

Kicking The Stick

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 9:48 pm
by TBALAX
Need to bring this thread back to life. A real world twist that changes the previous scenario. This just happened last week. Based on discussion above what is the correct call. NCAA and NFHS

A1 moving into B's attack zone is stick checked by def B1. The stick flies into the air several feet rotating. Ball drops out of the cross and lands on the ground. The stick than lands on the ground with the crosse head covering the ball. Ball is not stuck in crosse it is just covered by it.

A1 is looking for his stick and has not moved toward it. B2 watches this all happen and moves toward stick kicking it about five yards. The ball goes about ten yards and is picked up by B3 who races down field and scores. The trail (new lead for goal signals goal) who had the original play makes no call during the kick. The original lead was screened and did not see the kick. Before the faceoff the original Trail advises the original Lead the (R) of what happened and states he didn't know what to call so called nothing. That goal ties the game 3-3. What would be your call NCAA and NFHS?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 10:09 pm
by Sonny
Under 2007 NCAA rules, if B2 intentionally kicks A1's crosse - Unsportsmanlike conduct on B2. But you would have a VERY hard time selling that call after they raced downfield and score (extended play).

I've got nothing under both sets of rules. You can't really enforce a call like that after an extended period of time (long play).