Restarts
2 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Restarts
Where do you restart the ball when a timeout is called? I saw the ball restarted outside the box (with under two minutes) in the UMBC vs. Albany game. I was under the impression that you restart the ball inside the box after a timeout is called. Thanks for your response(s).
- nigel
- Water Boy
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 3:19 pm
Re: Restarts
nigel wrote:Where do you restart the ball when a timeout is called? I saw the ball restarted outside the box (with under two minutes) in the UMBC vs. Albany game. I was under the impression that you restart the ball inside the box after a timeout is called. Thanks for your response(s).
Endline timeout starts inside the box. All other timeouts start outside the box. Otherwise, you could drive to just in front of the crease and call timeout; on the restart, no one could be within 5 yards of you (including the goalie) so you'd get a free shot on an empty net.
There is some trouble with the wording of the rule that was corrected in a COC newsletter some time ago (changing it to "timeout on the endline").
-LaxRef
-
LaxRef - All-America
- Posts: 1381
- Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 7:18 am
2 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Return to Lacrosse Rules & Officiating
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests