Page 1 of 1

You make the Call

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 1:59 pm
by TexOle
I was doing a faceoff at a JV game. A1 clamps the ball and gets it stuck in the back of his stick. A1, B1, and I have no clue where the ball is at first. A1 decides that he should keep B1 away from the ball so begins trying to cross check B1. This is when I notice the ball in the back of A1s stick. I called A1 for with holding from play. Any other suggestions. He never actually got the cross check so I could not give it to him.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 2:08 pm
by Sonny
At the college (NCAA rules) level, it's an automatic turnover. The "reverse-plunger" rule. There should be an AR in the book on it.

Probably the same ruling for Federation rules, but I'm not 100% certain of that.

I would rule turnover back to B1 and pass on A1's cross-check (Unless it was unneccessarily vicious).

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 4:00 pm
by LaxRef
Sonny wrote:At the college (NCAA rules) level, it's an automatic turnover. The "reverse-plunger" rule. There should be an AR in the book on it.

Probably the same ruling for Federation rules, but I'm not 100% certain of that.


It's the same for NFHS if it happens on a faceoff (withholding). If it happens any other time in NFHS, there's a visual 4-count, and then the ball is awarded by A.P. if it's still stuck.