You make the Call

Discuss the rules of the game & the world of officiating.

You make the Call

Postby TexOle on Fri Jul 01, 2005 1:59 pm

I was doing a faceoff at a JV game. A1 clamps the ball and gets it stuck in the back of his stick. A1, B1, and I have no clue where the ball is at first. A1 decides that he should keep B1 away from the ball so begins trying to cross check B1. This is when I notice the ball in the back of A1s stick. I called A1 for with holding from play. Any other suggestions. He never actually got the cross check so I could not give it to him.
Tex
TexOle
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 583
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:48 pm
Location: Northfield, MN


Postby Sonny on Fri Jul 01, 2005 2:08 pm

At the college (NCAA rules) level, it's an automatic turnover. The "reverse-plunger" rule. There should be an AR in the book on it.

Probably the same ruling for Federation rules, but I'm not 100% certain of that.

I would rule turnover back to B1 and pass on A1's cross-check (Unless it was unneccessarily vicious).
Webmaster
Image
Image
User avatar
Sonny
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8183
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 3:18 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Postby LaxRef on Fri Jul 01, 2005 4:00 pm

Sonny wrote:At the college (NCAA rules) level, it's an automatic turnover. The "reverse-plunger" rule. There should be an AR in the book on it.

Probably the same ruling for Federation rules, but I'm not 100% certain of that.


It's the same for NFHS if it happens on a faceoff (withholding). If it happens any other time in NFHS, there's a visual 4-count, and then the ball is awarded by A.P. if it's still stuck.
-LaxRef
User avatar
LaxRef
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 7:18 am


Return to Lacrosse Rules & Officiating

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


cron