Time Out

Discuss the rules of the game & the world of officiating.

Time Out

Postby NinerCoach on Thu Mar 27, 2008 1:20 pm

Team A carries the ball into the restraining box, Assistant Coach from Team A calls time out.


I understand that only the Head Coach and players can call a time out, so since the whistle was the result of an assistant coach calling time out, it's an inadvertent whistle.


It was my understanding that any inadvertent whistle results in possession being decided by AP. However I've now been told that in this situation it's a loss of possession for the team who called the time out.

Which is it?
Josh DuVall
Head Coach
UNC Charlotte Men's Lacrosse
User avatar
NinerCoach
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:16 am
Location: Charlotte, NC


Re: Time Out

Postby LaxRef on Thu Mar 27, 2008 1:38 pm

NinerCoach wrote:Team A carries the ball into the restraining box, Assistant Coach from Team A calls time out.

I understand that only the Head Coach and players can call a time out, so since the whistle was the result of an assistant coach calling time out, it's an inadvertent whistle.

It was my understanding that any inadvertent whistle results in possession being decided by AP. However I've now been told that in this situation it's a loss of possession for the team who called the time out.

Which is it?


It is a technical foul (illegal procedure) to illegally request a timeout. Ball goes to Team B. This is really a technical foul by the team in possession resulting in a whistle, not an inadvertent whistle.

Also, an inadvertent whistle is not automatically AP. A team in possession at the time of the IW keeps possession. If the ball is loose at the time of the IW, ball is awarded by AP (unless the ball is in the crease, in which case it's awarded to the defense).
-LaxRef
User avatar
LaxRef
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 7:18 am

Postby Sonny on Thu Mar 27, 2008 1:45 pm

I would give the team the timeout, even if the asst. coach called for it. ;)

(Let the Head Coach deal with the issue of the Assistant calling for the timeout when he shouldn't be opening his mouth in the first place other then to coach his players....)
Webmaster
Image
Image
User avatar
Sonny
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8183
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 3:18 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Postby NinerCoach on Thu Mar 27, 2008 3:12 pm

I like Sonny's answer better.
Josh DuVall
Head Coach
UNC Charlotte Men's Lacrosse
User avatar
NinerCoach
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:16 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Postby LaxTV_Admin on Thu Mar 27, 2008 3:30 pm

NinerCoach wrote:I like Sonny's answer better.


Though it would be hilarious to see a coach pull out a rule book and ask for the technical foul instead!! :evil:

It could happen :)
User avatar
LaxTV_Admin
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 8:03 am


Return to Lacrosse Rules & Officiating

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest


cron