What is going on here?

Discuss the rules of the game & the world of officiating.

Re: What is going on here?

Postby LaxRef on Sat May 03, 2008 11:43 am

beckner11 wrote:
John Paul wrote:
LaxRef wrote:Of course, if you ever see anything close to this in a game, you should buy a lottery ticket on the way home.


We were down three men for a minute against CMU last Friday. That was the first time I had experienced that in a game I was involved in.


Back about 4 years ago when I was still playing my team went 4 men down.... to which the officials actually made us play with only 2 defenders on the field. Absolutely ridiculous situation!


But the correct ruling for NFHS. For NCAA, the penalties "stack" and you play 3-men down.
-LaxRef
User avatar
LaxRef
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 7:18 am


Postby beckner11 on Sun May 04, 2008 2:06 am

Well this took place in the GRLC (MCLA) so it works with NCAA... not complaining cause I can now say that I've seen something that only about 30 other people will see for a long time (assuming referees are better trained now)
User avatar
beckner11
All-Conference
All-Conference
 
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 3:01 pm
Location: Springfield, MO

Postby LaxRef on Sun May 04, 2008 8:28 am

beckner11 wrote:Well this took place in the GRLC (MCLA) so it works with NCAA... not complaining cause I can now say that I've seen something that only about 30 other people will see for a long time (assuming referees are better trained now)


Well, you still see this in HS. I haven't had it this year, but last year or the year before we had a team down 5 men: a goalie and one defender in the defensive end, plus 3 attackmen.
-LaxRef
User avatar
LaxRef
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 7:18 am

Postby Buc_em_up on Mon May 12, 2008 10:39 am

(In HS) What determines which side of the field a team has to pull people from if they have more than 3 penalties? In the scenario above there is 1 defender and three attackmen, what is stopping that team from switching to be 1 attackman and 3 defenders?
Cole Claiborn
User avatar
Buc_em_up
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 3:20 pm
Location: Georgetown, TX

Postby Chris Larson on Mon May 12, 2008 11:03 am

You have to maintain 3 players on the attack half of the field (otherwise it's another penalty). Therefore, you exhaust the middies and the defensemen first when stacking.

Same thing applies to a single man down. You don't play with 2 attack and 6 in front of the goalie, right?
Chris Larson

District 7 Lacrosse Official
SFO - Upper Midwest Lacrosse Conference
Treasurer - Upper Midwest Lacrosse Officials Association
General Manager - Team MN Lacrosse
Boy's Coaching Coordinator - St Paul Youth Lacrosse
User avatar
Chris Larson
Premium
Premium
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:55 pm
Location: St Paul, MN

Postby LaxRef on Mon May 12, 2008 11:55 am

Buc_em_up wrote:(In HS) What determines which side of the field a team has to pull people from if they have more than 3 penalties? In the scenario above there is 1 defender and three attackmen, what is stopping that team from switching to be 1 attackman and 3 defenders?


See:

NFHS Rule 4-11 wrote:A team is not considered to be offside when four players or more of the same team are in the penalty area That team is required to have three players in the goal half of the field and the remainder of its players in the defensive half of the field at all times. No penalty shall result from the failure of the team to have the required number of players in the defensive half of the field when this situation exists.
-LaxRef
User avatar
LaxRef
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 7:18 am

Postby Buc_em_up on Tue May 13, 2008 5:54 pm

thanks!
Cole Claiborn
User avatar
Buc_em_up
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 3:20 pm
Location: Georgetown, TX

Postby Jac Coyne on Mon May 19, 2008 10:24 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s3Mm58cOX64

Go to the 1:02 mark and start.

I'd probably call a ward...
Jac Coyne
Premium
Premium
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 7:53 pm

Postby LaxRef on Mon May 19, 2008 10:44 pm

Jac Coyne wrote:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s3Mm58cOX64

Go to the 1:02 mark and start.

I'd probably call a ward...


I'd probably call IP for playing without a stick, plus a flagrant misconduct/expulsion to put them two men down.
-LaxRef
User avatar
LaxRef
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 7:18 am

Postby DRich17 on Mon May 19, 2008 10:51 pm

In the case of say 4 men getting penalties in NCAA, B1,2, and 3 are serving in the box, when they are released, B4 doesnt come and take a knee there does he? I thought one of the three original penalized players sits B4's penalty out. Is this the case?

And that deal with the NHFS is absurd. Realistically speaking, doesn't the ref blow the whistle to stop play after the 4th or 5th man slashes? It seems like there is a similar situation in college when the same man slashes 3 or 4 times, the ref will stop play. (Unfortunately I have had that happened to me!)
Dustin Rich
Head Coach, Men's Lacrosse
Missouri State University
Springfield, MO

d.rich@missouristatelacrosse.org
417.827.6503
User avatar
DRich17
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 2:50 pm
Location: Springfield MO

Postby SchmittyBU22 on Mon May 19, 2008 11:19 pm

The worst I have ever seen, is Last year a team we were playing got 4 penalties on one play. 3 slash and 1 personal 2 min NR.
Ryan Smith
#22 Biola Lacrosse Captain
SchmittyBU22
Water Boy
Water Boy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 11:34 am
Location: LA

Postby LaxRef on Tue May 20, 2008 8:54 am

DRich17 wrote:In the case of say 4 men getting penalties in NCAA, B1,2, and 3 are serving in the box, when they are released, B4 doesnt come and take a knee there does he? I thought one of the three original penalized players sits B4's penalty out. Is this the case?



Nope. See:

NCAA Rule 7 wrote:A.R. 1. A1, A2, A3 and A4 receive one-minute releasable penalties which are all reported
during the same dead ball. A1, A2 and A3 begin to serve their penalties at the same time,
while A4 waits in the bench area immediately next to the scorer's table but not in the
special-substitution area. Team A restarts play with seven players on the field. (1) Team
B scores a goal after 30 seconds. (2) Team B does not score a goal in the next minute.
RULING: (1) A1, A2 and A3 are released, and A4 begins serving his one-minute
penalty. (2) A1 and A2 may enter the field. A3 must exit to the bench area, and A4 steps
into the special-substitution area and begins serving his penalty. Team A is now playing
with nine players on the field. A3 may now substitute into the game in the normal manner,
if desired.


DRich17 wrote:And that deal with the NHFS is absurd. Realistically speaking, doesn't the ref blow the whistle to stop play after the 4th or 5th man slashes? It seems like there is a similar situation in college when the same man slashes 3 or 4 times, the ref will stop play. (Unfortunately I have had that happened to me!)


According to the rules, we're supposed to let play continue. But I agree that if it's completely out of hand then we should stop play in the name of safety.
-LaxRef
User avatar
LaxRef
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 7:18 am

Postby ritzy on Tue May 20, 2008 11:31 am

LaxRef wrote:According to the rules, we're supposed to let play continue. But I agree that if it's completely out of hand then we should stop play in the name of safety.


Wouldn't this be a good time to suspend play?

NCAA Rule 4-26: An official may suspend play at his discretion.
ritzy
Recruit
Recruit
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 11:14 am

Postby LaxRef on Tue May 20, 2008 12:42 pm

ritzy wrote:
LaxRef wrote:According to the rules, we're supposed to let play continue. But I agree that if it's completely out of hand then we should stop play in the name of safety.


Wouldn't this be a good time to suspend play?

NCAA Rule 4-26: An official may suspend play at his discretion.


Just because you can suspend play at your discretion doesn't mean people aren't going to give you a hard time if they think you picked a bad time to do it! :D
-LaxRef
User avatar
LaxRef
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 7:18 am

Postby ritzy on Tue May 20, 2008 1:48 pm

LaxRef wrote:Just because you can suspend play at your discretion doesn't mean people aren't going to give you a hard time if they think you picked a bad time to do it! :D


me thinks people giving officials a hard time is nothing new. If a particular play is turning into a hack-fest, I think that a "safety-first" approach says stop play.

We've been quoting the NCAA book, but I would think that this is increasingly true as the ages of the players decreases.
ritzy
Recruit
Recruit
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 11:14 am

PreviousNext

Return to Lacrosse Rules & Officiating

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest


cron