Once the team is warned, a stalling violation is called if the ball goes out of the attack area in any manner and the offensive team touches the ball before the defensive team gains possession.
Consider the following situation: Team A warned for stalling, "Keep it in". A1 makes errant pass which rolls out of the box toward midfield. Team A stays away from the ball. Team B stays away from the ball. The quarter ends.
I know that I am probably over reading the rule a little bit, and of course the hypothetical situation is exaggerated. However, in my mind Team A is guilty of stalling exactly when the errant pass rolls out of the box, and the call should be short play-on (allow for the possibility of a Team B fast break) then whistle and award the ball to Team B.
Is this correct? If so, what is the purpose of the phrase and the offensive team touches the ball before the defensive team gains possession?