Page 1 of 1

STX Crankshaft

PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 10:20 pm
by cjwilhelmi
I just won the X3 and Kannon on STX Crankshaft 10's this past weekend in a raffle. Has anyone used them or have an opinion of them?

I will post my thoughts after a week or so of using them.

Image

Image
Kannon

Image
X3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 7:47 am
by mholtz
isn't this the one with the offset shaft? I belive the NCAA past a rule change making it illegal.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:56 am
by cjwilhelmi
The rule is called the "table top" rule. The stick, when laying flat on a table top, is measured from the table to the top of the scoop. The maximum distance between the table and scoop can be 2.75 inches.

The stick is illegal when using certain heads, the STX Bionic is one of them.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:29 pm
by ZagGrad
Can someone clarify as to why the rule is defined this way? The only thing I can think of is that it would add some speed to a shot, pass, etc. by allowing the ball to remain in the head a little longer, thus increasing the balls angular velocity. Thoughts?

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:16 pm
by cjwilhelmi
ZagGrad wrote:Can someone clarify as to why the rule is defined this way? The only thing I can think of is that it would add some speed to a shot, pass, etc. by allowing the ball to remain in the head a little longer, thus increasing the balls angular velocity. Thoughts?


2006 Men's Lacrosse Rules Book wrote:The crosse shall be relatively straight from the butt end to the end of the
head. A “relatively straight” crosse shall be defined as one that may be laid
flat on a tabletop on the side opposite the netting so that a substantial portion
of the crosse rests on the table and such that there is a distance from
the tabletop to bottom edge of the head that at no point exceeds 2 3/4 inches
(see diagram).


You can see the daigram here on page 20.

It appears I was a little off of where to measure. It says in the book that it must be less than 2.75 inches at any point along the length of the head. Basically if a head is extremely offset then it would be illegal.

I would love to see LaxRef's interpretation of this.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:24 pm
by LaxRef
cjwilhelmi wrote:I would love to see LaxRef's interpretation of this.


The NCAA ruled that the Crankshaft is legal since it passes the table test provided the head and shaft are used as a unit. However, they said that using the head on a standard shaft (or vice versa) could result in an illegal stick. I can dig up the COC Bulletin if you really need me to.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:27 pm
by cjwilhelmi
LaxRef wrote:
cjwilhelmi wrote:I would love to see LaxRef's interpretation of this.


The NCAA ruled that the Crankshaft is legal since it passes the table test provided the head and shaft are used as a unit. However, they said that using the head on a standard shaft (or vice versa) could result in an illegal stick. I can dig up the COC Bulletin if you really need me to.


If you could do that I would appreciate it. Mainly because I really like the Excaliber series heads and had some thoughts about putting the X3 on a regular short pole.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:44 pm
by ZagGrad
Yes, but why is this a rule? What was the justification behind administering it?