NLL Dispersal Draft

NLL Dispersal Draft

Postby Sonny on Mon Nov 05, 2007 5:21 pm

The NLL will hold a dispersal draft of players from the Arizona and Boston franchises on Monday, November 5th at 8:00 PM Eastern. Results will be posted live on the league's web site, The draft will consist of three rounds, with the order of selection as follows:

First Round
1. Portland
2. New York
3. Philadelphia
4. Chicago
5. Edmonton
6. Toronto
7. San Jose
8. Minnesota
9. Calgary
10. Buffalo
11. Colorado
12. Rochester

Second Round
13. Rochester
14. Colorado
15. Buffalo
16. Calgary
17. Minnesota
18. San Jose
19. Toronto
20. Edmonton
21. Chicago
22. Philadelphia
23. New York
24. Portland

Third Round
25. Portland
26. New York
27. Philadelphia
28. Chicago
29. Edmonton
30. Toronto
31. San Jose
32. Minnesota
33. Calgary
34. Buffalo
35. Colorado
36. Rochester

On October 16th, the league cancelled its 2008 season when a deadline to reach a new collective bargaining agreement with its players' association was not met. When a new seven-year collective bargaining agreement was reached with the players' association on October 24th, efforts began to create a new schedule for the 2008 season. The original schedule had been lost with the October 16th cancellation.

Due to the unique business issues arising out of the cancellation of the original 2008 season schedule, Arizona and Boston were provided the option of electing inactive status for the 2008 season. The clubs were provided the option to re-enter in 2009 season by participating in the expansion draft or to receive back their rostered players from 2008. Arizona has chosen to re-claim their dispersed players for the 2009 season, while Boston has chosen not to re-claim their players following this season and will build their 2009 roster as an expansion team.

All of the players on both clubs are available in the draft with the exception of those who had already qualified as unrestricted free agents. Arizona has three such players in defensemen Brian Beisel and Peter Lough as well as forward Curt Malawsky. All three had qualified for unrestricted free agency prior to Arizona's opting for inactive status for the 2008 season. Boston does not currently have any unrestricted free agents on its roster.

On November 2nd, the league announced a new schedule for the 2008 season, which will open on December 29th, when Colorado hosts Calgary.
User avatar
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8183
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 3:18 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Return to National Lacrosse League

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests