Pay-per-view at Nationals

The 2013 tournament returns to Greenville, SC this May.

Pay-per-view at Nationals

Postby laxfan25 on Thu May 08, 2008 9:06 pm

When will we learn more about the PPV option at the tournament? How much is it per game? Do you have to have satellite or a certain cable provider to get it? I'm very interested in hearing more about this.
User avatar
laxfan25
Scoop, Cradle, & Rock!
Scoop, Cradle, & Rock!
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:06 pm


Re: Pay-per-view at Nationals

Postby Sonny on Thu May 08, 2008 9:10 pm

laxfan25 wrote:When will we learn more about the PPV option at the tournament? How much is it per game? Do you have to have satellite or a certain cable provider to get it? I'm very interested in hearing more about this.


The PPV option is an online webcast only at CollegeLAX via Windows Media Player. Not on cable or satellite live during the games from Texas Stadium.

If you are technically savvy, you can output your video card to your Television. It won't be HD quality, but it will almost be as good as being there live.

Again these will be full length complete television productions of the final four games from Dallas, broadcast through the Internet via CollegeLAX. Full motion replays, multiple camera angles, on-screen scoreboard/graphics, audio from the field level, and more bells and whistles, etc.

Hope to have some more information published by the end of the weekend.
Last edited by Sonny on Fri May 09, 2008 12:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Webmaster
Image
Image
User avatar
Sonny
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8183
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 3:18 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Pay-per-view at Nationals

Postby laxfan25 on Fri May 09, 2008 6:58 am

Sonny wrote: If you are technically savvy, you can output your video card to our Television. It won't be HD quality, but it will almost be as good as being there live.

That's a great idea! MCLA games live on the 50" plasma - I can hear Homer now "Mmmmm, donuts, beer, MCLA lacrosse..."
User avatar
laxfan25
Scoop, Cradle, & Rock!
Scoop, Cradle, & Rock!
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:06 pm

Postby Sonny on Fri May 09, 2008 7:12 am

Just a footnote. You will need Windows Media Player and a high speed connection (Cable Modem, DSL, or TI connection) at a minimum.

This won't work on dial-up. :)
Webmaster
Image
Image
User avatar
Sonny
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8183
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 3:18 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Postby Zeuslax on Fri May 09, 2008 9:45 am

What about an internet connection via rotary phone?
Anthony
Zeuslax
Premium
Premium
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 2:36 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Postby Sonny on Fri May 09, 2008 12:19 pm

Zeuslax wrote:What about an internet connection via rotary phone?


Negative. ;)
Webmaster
Image
Image
User avatar
Sonny
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8183
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 3:18 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Postby ZagGrad on Fri May 09, 2008 12:23 pm

I'm really excited for this and ready for more information...

As a side, not too technically savvy...how can I hook my laptop to my plasma? I have USB, HDMI, etc. as available inputs. Thanks.
Chris Shogan

Gonzaga University Alumnus '03
Gonzaga Preparatory Lacrosse Head Coach
User avatar
ZagGrad
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:24 pm
Location: Spokane, WA

Postby KnoxVegas on Fri May 09, 2008 12:31 pm

This link should tell you all you need to do to view your computer through your TV.

http://www.engadgethd.com/2006/02/08/how-to-connect-your-pc-to-your-hdtv/
Last edited by KnoxVegas on Fri May 09, 2008 2:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dagger!
KnoxVegas
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 1762
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 12:03 am

Postby ZagGrad on Fri May 09, 2008 2:12 pm

Nice. Thanks.
Chris Shogan

Gonzaga University Alumnus '03
Gonzaga Preparatory Lacrosse Head Coach
User avatar
ZagGrad
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:24 pm
Location: Spokane, WA

Postby KnoxVegas on Fri May 09, 2008 2:46 pm

Let me add that you should plan ahead and buy the necessary cables, etc... you may need beforehand.
Dagger!
KnoxVegas
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 1762
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 12:03 am

Postby laxfan25 on Fri May 09, 2008 4:12 pm

KnoxVegas wrote:Let me add that you should plan ahead and buy the necessary cables, etc... you may need beforehand.

I was going to do a test run tomorrow just to see that it all works.
User avatar
laxfan25
Scoop, Cradle, & Rock!
Scoop, Cradle, & Rock!
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:06 pm

Postby KnoxVegas on Fri May 09, 2008 11:49 pm

You are just turning you tv into a computer monitor, like doing a PowerPoint presentation on a projector or a data monitor.

Remember that some computers have a function key that turns off the laptops monitor and switches the signal to the data monitor. i do this all the time in my hotel room on the road with SlingBox. You just need the right cable(s).

Good luck!
Dagger!
KnoxVegas
All-America
All-America
 
Posts: 1762
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 12:03 am


Return to Championship Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


cron